President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto are expected to unveil a list of 22 Principal Secretary nominees any day from today.

President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto are expected to unveil a list of 22 Principal Secretary nominees any day from today.

The unveiling of the PSs comes a day after the Head of State officiated the swearing in of Cabinet Secretaries.

On Friday last week, the Public Service Commission concluded the interviewing and short listing of Principal Secretary candidates and handed a list of 66 top candidates to the President for nomination.

The sources indicated that the President and his deputy narrowed the list to at least 22 persons from the list of the 66 shortlisted candidates.

The sources say that there is a likelyhood of five current Permanent Secretaries becoming Principal Secretaries.

These include Tirop Kosgey who is the PS for Housing, Dr Bitange Ndemo, the PS Information and Communication, Dr Edward Sambili, the Planning PS, Ambassador Ruth Solitei – the Tourism PS and David Stower of the Ministry of Water.

The sources further indicated that the list will also have Njoki Kahiga – a veteran public service official who recently acted as the PS Public Service as well as Stephen Kinyanjui Kirogo who is currently the Principal Administrative Secretary and Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet.

Others likely to be nominated for Principal Secretary jobs are Richard Lesiyampe – the CEO Kenyatta National Hospital, Dr Alice Nyambura Koigi the current MD of Post Bank, Eng. Petronila Ogut, the MD National Water and Pipeline Conservation, Paul Wasanga, the CEO Kenya National Examinations Council, Dr Mzalendo Kibunjia, the chairman National Cohesion And Intergration Commission and Prof Shaukat Abdul Razak the CEO of the National Council for Sciencies.

The sources indicated that Kenyatta and Ruto might also nominate Caroli Omondi, the former Private Secretary to former Prime Minister Raila Odinga.

Others on the list are veteran PR practitioner Fatuma Hirsi Mohamed, scholars Dr Ann Karimi Kinyua of the University of Nairobi and James Kahindi of USIU and Eng. John Kipngetich.

The source further says the full list is likely to have 22 nominees, 7 of whom are women.

There will also be several deputy principal secretaries who will be in charge of key departments.

By Koome Kimonye and Michael Njenga


Leave a comment

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: