Dr. Okonjo Iweala appointed South Africa Presidential Economic Advisory Council member

President Cyril Ramaphosa appoints Dr. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala member of his Economic Advisory Council. The Presidential Economic Advisory Council is a non-statutory and Independent body chaired by the president. The appointed members will volunteer their time and will be compensated for travel and subsistence while they serve a three-year term.

Dr. Okonjo Iweala served twice as Minister of Finance in Nigeria from July 2003 to June 2006 under former President Olusegun Obasanjo and from August 2011 to May 2015 under former President Goodluck Jonathan. She also served as Foreign Affairs minister from June 2006 to August 2006.

Dr. Okonjo Iweala previously worked at the World Bank as a development economist for 25 years and rose to the position of Managing Director Operations.

Other members of the Presidential Economic Advisory Council are;

  • Professor Benno Ndulu
  • Professor Mzukisi Qobo
  • Professor Dani Rodrik
  • Professor Mariana Mazzucato
  • Mamello Matikinca-Ngwenya
  • Dr. Renosi Mokate
  • Dr. Kenneth Creamer
  • Professor Alan Hirsch
  • Professor Tania Ajam
  • Dr. Grové Steyn
  • Wandile Sihlobo
  • Dr. Liberty Mncube
  • Professor Fiona Tregenna
  • Professor Haroon Bhorat
  • Ayabonga Cawe
  • Professor Vusi Gumede
  • Dr. Thabi Leoka
  • Professor Imraan Valodia
Abiodun Abidoye
publisher@africaonlinenews.blog  and member  Southern African Freelancers’ Association

Leave a comment

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: